Top 5 Information Security Certifications


The last year saw a lot of cybersecurity gaps with significant breaches borne by worldwide entities, for example, Facebook (breached 87 million records) and Aadhaar, who apparently had more than 1.1 billion records affected. The sheer size of these data security breaches compares not just with countless loses and more coverage of the media but in addition to more employments and open doors for IT and programming experts.

As per a Cyber Seek report, the figure of cybersecurity employment opportunities in the U.S. stands at right around 302,000, with almost 769,000 cybersecurity experts employed in the present workforce. Projections keep on being powerful farther: CSO anticipates that that number should hit 500,000 by 2021, with more than 3 million cybersecurity occupations open for the rest of the world that year.

While assessing prospective InfoSec learning applicants, businesses often look to certification as a commitment to quality and an important measure of excellence. We inspected five certifications for InfoSec learning we consider to be pioneers in the field of data security today:

1. Certified Ethical Hacker
2. SANS GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)
3. CompTIA Security+
4. Certified Information Systems Security Professional
5. Certified Information Security Manager

1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

As per the EC-Council site: “To win against a hacker, you have to think like one!” This seller impartial certification proves that the certification holder has the tools and information that malicious programmers have and can utilize those equivalent powers against them. This certification of legitimate and lawful hacking expertise additionally shows the world that the data security proficient realizes how to measure the security stance of a network/system and how to discover vulnerabilities and weaknesses inside it.

The profession of Information security needs to bring hacking expertise to their everyday job ought to think about the CEH certification. This is for one reason: a business that is attempting to shield itself from outside hackers should contract a hacker. Having a person with these skills in your business can enable the business to all the more likely to detect its own vulnerabilities and will have the option to reveal insight into how hackers think in some given circumstance, making a CEH an important addition to the group.

However, this credential isn’t totally, entry-level bare-bones. To be qualified to take the CEH accreditation test, participants must have 2 years of experience working in the industry of data security. However, even pros who have no knowledge can take an official training course of EC-Council.

2. GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)

Facilitated by GIAC, GSEC is a credential that supports expertise that is exceptionally attractive and especially sought after. To put it plainly, GSEC proves that the credential holder has enough information on best practices for general data security and the approach required for practical real-world application.

GSEC is a brilliant decision of the primary credential for a data security proficient. It may be very hard to make a distinction yourself from the pack when you are a beginner level data security proficient. Obtaining the GSEC credential and posting it on your CV or resume can be a decent way to gear up yourself and start a productive and focused profession.

3. CompTIA Security+

Taking the 2nd number position is both the Network+ and A+ credential offered by CompTIA. Both of these tests are an incredible beginning stage for those aiming for their first certification for some reason. To start with, these two certifications are frequently a portion of the primary certifications earned by data security experts due to their wide-based, foundational character. Numerous businesses expressly search for professionals with at any rate one of these two certifications, even for entry-level Information security and Information technology jobs.

Second, the knowledge and information secured by these credentials can be considered nearly “general education” with regards to data security. Third, Network+/A+ is designed for system experts, further exhibiting their base, broad appeal. Last, these certifications are extraordinary praises to the certification that has been picked for the main position, being that they are all pieces of a similar three-certification suite provided by the test host.

4. Certified Information Systems Security Professional

For those especially searching for entry-level certification of cybersecurity, look no more. Provided by (ISC)2, the Associate certification was made for the individuals who are educated in IT and cybersecurity, however, they don’t yet have the necessary experience for further developed certifications, for example, CISSP, CCSP, and CAP. Also, CISSP online courses are very helpful for professionals.

One of the greatest distinctions about the Associate credentials is that it doesn’t require a particular prerequisite, for example, professional experience year before you take your confirmation test. Applicants are allowed to take the certification test before they have any understanding and afterward present their experience toward their credentials as they gain the experience. This is really the better of the two worlds for the credential holder since applicants for entry-level jobs seldom have a lot of experience.

The key purpose of magnetism for this credential is the way that you are put on once you procure this credential. (ISC)2 has numerous helpful credentials for data security experts, however, the issue here is that those credentials are for experts within any event two to five years of expert experience. Fortunately, the Associate certification permits those at entry-level to distinguish themselves as per their education and not their absence of expert experience.

5. Certified Information Security Manager

The Certified Information Security Manager – CISM is a top certification for IT experts liable for overseeing, developing, and managing data security systems in the applications of enterprise-level, or for developing the greatest practices of organizational security. The CISM certification was introduced to security experts by ISACA in 2003.

The goals of ISACA’s organization are specifically designed for IT experts inspired by the most excellent standards for control, audit, and security of data systems. The CISM certification focuses on the necessities of IT security experts with big business-level security management duties. Certification holders have progressed and demonstrated skills in security risk management, governance,program management and development, and incident response and management.

Even in a cso conference india, it was stated that safety at workplace has been an area of specific concern. South Asia continues to be economically dynamic, demographically rich and inherently fragile. This makes the role of CSOs immensely valuable and challenging.

To Top