Home Entertainment Ten Facts About Future’s “Honest”

Ten Facts About Future’s “Honest”

0 3876

Future_Honest_(album)Future released his second album this past week, Honest to so-so reviews. Honest is receiving much better reviews than his previous album, his debut Pluto, which bombed with critics. The sophomore album has scored six, count ‘em, six singles including Move That Dope and the highly controversial Karate Chop (remix). You “bought” the album and gave it a good listen but now here are ten facts about Future’s album Honest.


•Karate Chop (Remix) appears on the deluxe edition of the album. The song caused controversy over the lyric by Lil’ Wayne where he speak ill of Emmitt Till, a young African-American male whom was murdered for flirting with a white woman. The singles released censored the lyric due to obvious reasons. The lyric appears uncensored in the deluxe edition

Jimi Hendrix•The original name of the album was titled Future Hendrix. He stated that Jimi Hendrix, as an artist, stood out and he wanted to do the same by standing alone in hip-hop.

Jeremih•The original album was to feature Ciara, Rihanna, Kelly Rowland, and Jeremih. However they do not make the cut of the final version.

Photo by Gabriel Olsen/FilmMagic

Photo by Gabriel Olsen/FilmMagic

•The album, according to Future, changed in tonality during the recording process a mere month before the initial November 26, 2013 release date.


•Move That Dope features vocals from Pusha T, Pharrell, and Casino. However, for the radio edit and the music video Casino’s vocals are cut.

RealandTrueCover•Real and True, his song with Miley Cyrus, was released as a lead single for Honest. It doesn’t appear on the album, however.

Ciara at the VH! Divas  2012.

Ciara at the VH! Divas 2012.

•Future was inspired to write the lyrics for Real and True by Ciara, his fiancée.

Future_karate_chop_feat_wayne•The first two singles released from the album, Karate Chop (Remix) and Shit, only appear as bonus tracks on the deluxe edition. The deluxe edition actually includes six extra songs. If you do the math, the deluxe edition contains 50% more songs.

Freebandz•Honest marks the second album released under Future’s Freebandz record label. The other album released by Freebandz was Future’s Pluto. Currently, there are nine artists signed to Freebandz.

Future_-_Pluto•Compared to Pluto, Honest contains eight featured artists, one more than Pluto, and contains three less songs on the standard edition of the albums; Pluto contains 15 tracks and Honest only contains 12. When comparing deluxe editions, Honest contains one more song than Pluto.



Jonathan Silva is a graduate and current student at Full Sail University going for his Master's Degree in Journalism. When he isn't writing for film blogs like Get The Big Picture or listening to music, he's either watching movies or playing video games. His love for all things entertainment shine through in his writing.