Home Entertainment Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean...

Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

0 1514

Music week in review

 

Since I’ve been doing this blog I’ve been killing myself to keep up with new music releases. I’ve always kept up with new music, but just because I’ve downloaded it doesn’t mean I’ve always listened to it right away.

 

On top of all that, it’s the Internet age where everyone has access to new music as soon as it touches the web. So I believe it’s time to evolve this blog and like I ask artist to do with they’re music, it’s time to grow.

 

It’s time I look ahead a little bit and review albums before they come out instead of a week behind. Also I’m going to post in separate segment, multiple posts instead of one big one. I’ll work out the kinks along the way. Of course I’ll have to catch up for a few post on last weeks material, but we’ll get there.

 

Here is a quick review of music released after February 16th, 2014 and my thoughts.


 Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Red Café – American Psycho 2 (mixtape) 2/17/14

Bad Boy artist Red Café’s second installment of American Psycho is still not up to the Bad Boy standard and I don’t think he’ll hit the height of P. Diddy endorsement at this rate. He can rap, but in this business punch lines and ridding a beat properly isn’t enough to succeed. If the rumors are true and Bad Boy is really closing they’re doors, I doubt Interscope is ever going to release his album after the fact. It’s just a mediocre project that doesn’t stand out in any way. I’m rooting for you Café but you should hire a muse cause this so so music is not working. Right now the general public is saying Red who?

 

Score – 5 of 10


Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Jae Millz – 1990+ (mixtape) 2/17/14

As a member of the infamous Young Money crew, it must really suck to be the one no one knows. Jae Mills has been around for a while and gained respect from the underground NY scene well before Young Money. In this music business the record labels do nothing for you unless you have your own movement. We watch other Young money artist like Tyga, Drake and Nicki Minaj demand respect through the mixtape market and work like inhuman mechanical tools and check this, they depend on Young Money for nothing. They all have they’re own teams outside of Young Money. Jae should soak up game and surround himself with a team that can push him forward and quit complaining about the game not being about lyrics anymore. No one cares we know you can rap. We need songs! As for the mixtape, it’s dope! All classic 90s hip-hop beats with Jae spiting punch lines and metaphor over tracks from OutKast, Wu-tang, Camp Lo, Naughty By Nature and the list goes on, but still no songs. Sounds like the format to become Young Money’s “bench rider” of the year! I’m not hating, I’m saying get up and do something about it.

 

Score – 6 of 10


 Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Juvenile – The Fundamentals 2/15/14

Began his career as a Cash Money Hot Boy alongside of Lil Wayne and BG. Juvie has been known in the past to produce hits and cult classics with every album in the past, however I was dreading pressing play, because the preconceived notion was “here is another washed up rapper trying to stay relevant.” Actually the album had its upsides, yet as whole it was rollercoaster ride. At times he sounded like he was trying to hard and came off corny. Other times he displayed skill as if he hasn’t lost a step. At any coast there we’re no big radio hits on this one and I do believe his mainstream appeal at this point is next to none. The album features appearances from Young Jeezy and Yo Gotti and for actual Juvenile fans it’s a descent serviceable album.

 

Score – 6 of 10


Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Sean Paul – Full Frequency 2/18/14

The return of Reggae/pop artist Sean Paul came as a surprise to me. Not because he’s still active but the simple fact that he sounds like he never stopped running the charts. The album is constant and flawless. There is no risky or experimental music that crosses over to new audiences but he does exactly what he is supposed to do. The album features guest appearances from Nicki Minaj, Gong Marley, Iggy Azalea, Juicy J and Two Chains. It’s Sean Paul at his best, producing pop hit after pop hit and staying relevant.

 

Score – 8 of 10


 Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Doppelgangaz – Peace Kehd 2/18/14

If your not hip to this dual, its hip hop the way it was intended to be experienced. I hate the fact that rappers of the current error find it ok to do music that you can’t distinguish from the rest. Each artist should have they’re own sound and they should provide intangibles that only that specific artist can provide. This group does just that. Their dark production and unique rhyming belongs to them and them only. This is how you build an underground cult following. They stand apart from the rest and that’s not to say that they are the best but to say they do their own thing in their own lane. The Lyrics are creative and innovative and the album gets progressively better through out the duration.

 

Score – 8 of 10


Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Phantogram – Voices – 2/18/14

My outside pick wasn’t as impressive as I anticipated. The production feel of the album was hard to classify and am not sure if it was all over the place or well rounded. One moment it was a hip-hop feel and the next it was English pop. I actual love the production but the vocals wore on me. The music sounds great at points, but others the vocals are like figure nails scratching the caulk board. It’s a long ride filled with sounds and influences from every genre and they aren’t afraid to take risk so I can’t fault them for experimenting. I just wish it had more of theme. After all the negative feedback that I’m delivering I’m still giving the overall project a decent ratting. It’s highs out weighs the lows.

 

Score – 7 of 10


 Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

School Boy Q – Oxymoron – Release date – 2/25/14

The much anticipated album from TDE member School Boy Q was much more “Gangsta” then I predicted it would be. Both Kendrick Lamar and Isaiah Rashad took a bit of conscious approach with their stories of gang life. School Boy Q holds nothing back and gives a southern Cali gang life style for the new generation. The production is aggressive with lyrics to match. The deluxe version of the album is worth selecting over the standard because the bonus songs are legit. I Personally expected more lyrically but overall it’s not a bad album.

 

Score – 8.5 of 10


 Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Prodigy – The Most Infamous  -2-18-14

The album was more like a collection or greatest hits for Prodigy. Outside of Mobb Deep albums Prodigy hasn’t had the greatest track record when it comes to solo albums. His first album H.N.I.C. and Einstein we’re both produced by Alchemist and were instant classics. The two of them work well together, but the rest of Prodigy’s albums have been boring and poorly produced. The majority of this project fits that boring mode. He just doesn’t have the intensity that he is capable of giving us in his delivery.

 

Score – 5 of 10


 Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

Candice Glover – Music Speaks  – 2/18/14

This American Idol winner was actually apart of three straight seasons. She was eliminated in season 10 and 11 before wining the whole contest in the 12th season. I think that is phenomenal and is the definition of dedication. Not sure what direction they we’re looking for with this album though. It a decent R&B album filled with big and slow Ballads, but to be completely honest, I fell asleep on the album twice. Oh how I love the voice but such a slow ride. I wanted to love it but the truth is it’s a thin line that this album sits on. Either you love it or your board by it. It’s literally all ballads.

 

Score – 7 of 10


Music Week in Review Feb 18th-25th: featuring Beck, School Boy Q, Sean Paul, Candice Glover and more

 Beck – Morning Phase – 2/25/14

One of the most experimental artist of the last 20 years, Beck is a real risk taker. He has experimented with just about every genre and never put out the same album twice. Every time he releases an album he reinvents himself. This time around he has giving us a soft rock/ 60s folk sound. No what I hoping for but a good album overall.

 

Score – 7 of 10


More reviews coming later this week!  To be continued…

 

Marcus J. Clark is not a human being, but an experience. An energy that revolves around art, music, comic books and Film. A Gift to the free world containing supernatural artistic powers to transport every open mind to the contradiction that is The Savage Wonderland.