Home Uncategorized Devin The Dude: “One For the Road” Album Review

Devin The Dude: “One For the Road” Album Review

0 1941

Devin the Dude on the Road Album Review

Known as the smooth laid back dude drinking a beer, smoking some weed and checking out the girls. Independent artist Devin The Dude just released his 9th solo studio album One for the Road. If you’ve never heard of Devin The Dude before, he’s a Scarface protégé that released his first four albums on Houston based Rap-A-Lot records. He’s an Indie Rapper, but by choice and not by lack of mainstream appeal. He’s featured on several mainstream albums as well as the underground. He was featured on Dr. Dre’s Chronic 2001. He’s featured with notable artists such as Jay-z, R. Kelly, Big Krit, Snoop Dogg, UGK, B.O.B.

The new album One For The Road is exactly what you expect from him. Not his best work by far, but for Devin’s fans it’s a fix to get through the next year.


Devin stays true to his same old basic format and subject matter. Smoking weed checking out the girls and giving us a few positives messages and wisdom; over mellow chilled out bluesy tunes. In a way, Devin is the old drunk and high uncle I never had. He cracks his jokes and makes you laugh, talks about how good his weed is, and rambles about this and that. Devin gives advice and wisdom, and if you take the time to listen- he’s actually making sense. The problem is; he’s intoxicated and hilarious at times, so it’s hard to take him serious.


The new album starts of very mellow vibes lots of piano keys, a little saxophone and lots of melody. The first six songs are a sad pick your self up off the ground kind of songs. Eventually the mood lightens up a little with his radio skits, which are hilarious. But, don’t expect a party on this one. This is one laid back album.


For Devin The Dude fans it’s one to add to the collection. The cover art for this album is Devin sitting alone at a bar. That would describe what you’re in for. If you’ve never listened to a Devin album, I suggest his fourth album Waiting to Inhale which was a classic album that featured guest appearances from Andre 3000, Snoop Dogg, Lil Wayne and Bun-B. In my opinion that was his most balanced album.


As for his current album One For The Road6 out of 10 is my rating. I enjoyed the laid-back stories and sounds from Devin The Dude.


Rating System

10 – Instant Classic – must have

09 – Great Album just short of classic

08 – Good Album recommend checking out

07 – Above average more upside then down

06 – Worth the listen, has a few moments

05 – Average, maybe core fan base will enjoy

04 – You’re not missing much if you skip this one

03 – Bad album let down

02 – Trash- don’t waste your time

01 – Everyone involved in this album needs to reevaluate their life

Marcus J. Clark is not a human being, but an experience. An energy that revolves around art, music, comic books and Film. A Gift to the free world containing supernatural artistic powers to transport every open mind to the contradiction that is The Savage Wonderland.